9-Member Aga Khan Jury Announced

 John Hill
10. December 2018
Friendship Centre in Bangladesh by Kashef Chowdhury / URBANA, one of six winners of the 2016 Aga Khan Award for Architecture (Photo: Aga Khan Trust for Culture / Rajesh Vora)
The members of the jury for the 14th cycle of the prestigious Aga Khan Award for Architecture have been announced. Next month the jury will convene to select a shortlist from hundreds of nominated projects.
The Aga Khan Award for Architecture is given every three years to "projects that set new standards of excellence in architecture, planning practices, historic preservation and landscape architecture," singling out "building concepts that successfully address the needs and aspirations of societies across the world, in which Muslims have a significant presence."

The Master Jury, as announced by the Aga Khan Development Network:
  • Kwame Anthony Akroma-Ampim Kusi Appiah, an Anglo-Ghanaian American philosopher, cultural theorist, and novelist
  • Meisa Batayneh, founder and principal architect of maisam architects & engineers
  • Sir David Chipperfield, founder of David Chipperfield Architects
  • Elizabeth Diller, founding partner of Diller Scofidio + Renfro (DS+R)
  • Edhem Eldem, Professor of History at Boğaziçi University and International Chair of Turkish and Ottoman History at the Collège de France
  • Mona Fawaz, Professor in Urban Studies and Planning; Coordinator of the Master in Urban Planning, Policy and Design; and Director of Social Justice and the City at American University of Beirut's Issam Fares Institute of Public Policy
  • Kareem Ibrahim, architect and urban researcher based in Egypt
  • Ali M. Malkawi, professor at Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design and founding director of the Harvard Center for Green Buildings and Cities
  • Nondita Correa Mehrotra, principal of RMA Architects
Following the selection of the shortlisted projects in January, "independent experts" (architects, conservation specialists, planners or structural engineers) will conduct thorough, on-site reviews. The jury will then meet for a second time in summer 2019, examining the expert reviews and selecting the final recipients of the 2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture.

Most recently, the 13th cycle, announced in October 2016, awarded six projects, in Bangladesh, China, Denmark, Iran, and Lebanon.

Related articles

Featured Project

Atelier Liu Yuyang Architects (ALYA)

Beijing Cidi Memo iTown

Other articles in this category