Frida Escobedo Wins 2024 Charlotte Perriand Prize

Antonio La Gioia
14. setembro 2023
Illustration by Hanna Gomes

The award, named after the French architect and designer who pioneered modern architecture and interior design, is a recognition that seeks to highlight innovation and the challenge of conventional norms in professional practice.

Photo courtesy of Créateurs Design Association / CDA Awards®

After learning that she was the recipient of the award, Escobedo declared:

"In a field dominated by men, Charlotte Perriand created her own path: One that was fearlessly innovative yet deeply rooted in the belief that all beings have the right to beauty, comfort, and functionality. She shaped the world through her vast production of work while building a constellation of friends and colleagues, teaching us that collaboration is one of the most fundamental practices in the architectural discipline. To find myself acknowledged by this remarkable jury is an honor that resonates deeply within me. It serves as a testament to the enduring legacy of Charlotte Perriand, a legacy I am humbled and overjoyed to perpetuate.”

Born in 1979 in Mexico City, Escobedo founded her practice in 2006 and achieved global reach when she was appointed in 2018 to design the prestigious Serpentine Pavilion, located in Kensington Gardens, London, becoming the youngest architect to date to undertake such a commission. More recently, Escobedo was selected as the architect to design the new $500 million wing for modern and contemporary art at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. Following her appointment as design architect for the Tang Wing at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Frida Escobedo opened a studio in New York City in 2022.

Outros artigos nesta categoria