Pritzker Prize Award Ceremony

John Hill
7. October 2020
Shelley McNamara and Yvonne Farrell the Long Room at the Library of Trinity College Dublin (Photo: Screenshot)

On the morning of October 6, the award ceremony for the 2020 Pritzker Architecture Prize given to Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara of Grafton Architects took place — online, for the first time in its 42-year history.

More than one speaker laments the fact the coronavirus pandemic forced this year's Pritzker Prize award ceremony into a digital environment, instead of its normal setting in a significant work of architecture. Farrell and McNamara speak from the Long Room at the Library of Trinity College Dublin, what would have been a beautiful setting for an in-person ceremony. The impressive 65-meter-long room also finds a synergy in the duo's work, which has an overt embrace of grand interior rooms.

Featuring 40 minutes of recorded remarks, these are the participants in the 2020 Pritzker Architecture Prize ceremony, in order of appearance:

  • Martha Thorne, Executive Director, Pritzker Architecture Prize
  • Tom Pritzker, Chairman, Hyatt Foundation
  • Michael Higgins, President of Ireland
  • Stephen Breyer, Supreme Court Justice, Jury Chair
  • Yvonne Farrell, Grafton Architects, 2020 Laureate
  • Shelley McNamara, Grafton Architects, 2020 Laureate
  • Margot Pritzker and Cindy Pritzker
  • A bevy of previous Pritzker Prize laureates congratulating Farrell and McNamara: Balkrishna Doshi (2018), Kazuyo Sejima (2010), Rafael Moneo (1996), Wang Shu (2012), Alvaro Siza (1992), Jean Nouvel (2008), Alejandro Aravena (2016), Toyo Ito (2013), Glenn Murcutt (2002), Eduardo Souto de Moura (2011), Pierre de Meuron (2001), Norman Foster (1999), Shigeru Ban (2014), Christian de Portzamparc (1994), Frank Gehry (1989), Ryue Nishizawa (2010), Jacques Herzog (2001), Thom Mayne (2005), Renzo Piano (1998), and Ramon Vilalta, Carme Pigem and Rafael Aranda (2017).

Below is an 11-minute highlight reel from the ceremony, but visit the Pritzker Architecture Prize website to watch the full 40-minute virtual ceremony.

Related articles

Other articles in this category