2014 Pritzker Architecture Prize


Japanese architect Shigeru Ban has been selected as the 2014 Laureate of the prestigious Pritzker Architecture Prize. In a statement on the Pritzker Prize website, the award recognizes the architect's "elegant, innovative work for private clients" as well as the "resourceful design approach for his extensive humanitarian efforts." Both poles of Shigeru Ban's oeuvre are evident in two projects completed last year: Tamedia Office Building in Zürich and the Cardboard Cathedral in Christchurch, New Zealand. The former utilizes an innovative timber structure to create a pleasing office environment, while the latter serves as a temporary cathedral following the 2011 earthquake that damaged the Christchurch Cathedral. The official 2014 Pritzker Architecture Prize ceremony will take place at the Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam, on June 13.

Cardboard Cathedral, 2013, Christchurch, New Zealand. Photo by Stephen Goodenough 
Tamedia Building, 2013, Zurich, Switzerland. Photo by Didier Boy de la Tour 
Paper Concert Hall, 2011, L’Aquila, Italy. Photo by Fabio Mantovani 
Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Club House, 2010, Korea. Photo by Hiroyuki Hirai 
Centre Pompidou-Metz, 2010, France. Photo by Didier Boy de la Tour 
Curtain Wall House, 1995, Tokyo, Japan. Photo by Hiroyuki Hirai 
Paper Log House, 1995, Kobe, Japan. Photo by Takanobu Sakuma 
John Hill
Published on
Mar 24, 2014