Stephen Breyer to Chair Pritzker Prize Jury

John Hill
17. August 2018
U.S. Supreme Court judge Stephen Breyer (Photo: Steve Petteway)

The Hyatt Foundation appointed Justice Stephen Breyer, one of eight judges currently on the U.S. Supreme Court, as Chair of the Pritzker Architecture Prize jury. His announcement comes after Australian architect Glenn Murcutt stepped down from the Prize jury.

Justice Breyer, who turned 80 this week, has been a Supreme Court judge since 1994 and a member of the Pritzker Prize jury since 2011. On the latter, he has served alongside Murcutt as well as, among others, Richard Rogers, Benedetta Tagliabue, and Lord Peter Palumbo, who is also stepping down from the jury this year. Earlier this year 2010 Pritzker laureate Kazuyo Sejima was appointed to the jury and 2012 Pritzker laureate Wang Shu was added to the jury last year.

With these recent changes the jury for the 41st Pritzer Architecture Prize, to be named next year, is currently:

  • Stephen Breyer (Jury Chair), U.S. Supreme Court Justice, Washington, D.C., USA
  • André Corrêa do Lago, architectural critic, curator, and Brazilian Ambassador to Japan, Tokyo, Japan
  • Richard Rogers, architect and 2007 Pritzker Laureate, London, United Kingdom
  • Kazuyo Sejima, architect and 2010 Pritzker Laureate, Tokyo, Japan
  • Wang Shu, architect, educator, and 2012 Pritzker Laureate, Hangzhou, China
  • Benedetta Tagliabue, architect and director of EMBT Miralles Tagliabue, Barcelona, Spain
  • Ratan N. Tata, Chairman of Tata Trusts, Mumbai, India
Tom Pritzker, Chairman of the Hyatt Foundation, said in a statement:

It is with great pleasure that we designate Justice Breyer as Jury Chair. His devotion to civic-minded architecture underscores the mission of the Prize and his unparalleled ability to guide a group deliberation is essential in creating a unified voice within this diverse and international panel of jurors.

Recent winners of the Pritzker Architecture Prize include Balkrishna Doshi (2018); Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem and Ramon Vilalta of RCR Arquitectes (2017); and Alejandro Aravena (2016), the last who served as a Prize juror.

Related articles

Featured Project

Coop Himmelb(l)au

PANEUM – Wunderkammer des Brotes (House of Bread II)

Other articles in this category