5th LafargeHolcim Awards Launched

John Hill
5. July 2016
Image courtesy of Lafarge Holcim Foundation
Yesterday the LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction launched the $2 million Lafarge Holcim Awards 2016/2017, which "identifies the ideas with the highest potential to tackle today’s challenges to increasing urbanization and to improve quality of life."
Billed as "the most significant global competition in sustainable design," the biennial LafargeHolcim Awards are open for projects in architecture, building and civil engineering, landscape and urban design, materials, products and construction technologies that contribute to the five "target issues"* for sustainable construction. As in the four previous Holcim Awards (Lafarge and Holcim merged last year to create LafargeHolcim), juries will evaluate and rank the respective entries in five regions: Europe, North America, Latin America, Middle East Africa, and Asia Pacific. Regional winners will then go on to compete for the Global LafargeHolcim Awards.

The main category is open to projects that have reached an advanced stage of design, have a high probability of execution, but have not started construction as of yesterday's launch date. A special Next Generation category is open to participants up to the age of 30 years with projects that may or may not be implemented.

Submission deadline is 21 March 2017. More information can be found in our Agenda listing and on the LafargeHolcim Foundation website. See the winners of the 2015 Global Holcim Awards here.
Global Holcim Awards Gold 2015: Articulated Site, Medellín, Colombia
*The five "target issues" for sustainable construction that were determined by the LafargeHolcim Foundation and its partners universities:
  1. Innovation and transferability – Progress
  2. Ethical standards and social inclusion – People
  3. Resource and environmental performance – Planet
  4. Economic viability and compatibility – Prosperity
  5. Contextual and aesthetic impact – Place

Other articles in this category