OCAD University's "Steam Canoe," one of last year's Winter Stations (Photo: Khristel Stecher)
Eight winning teams – five international and local artists, designers, architects and landscape architects, and three university teams – have been selected to create temporary artworks that will transform Toronto's east end beaches into "a winter spectacle."
"Untitled" by Oyler Wu Collaborative (All images courtesy of Exhibit Columbus)
Exhibit Columbus, the annual celebration of the Indiana city's extraordinary design heritage, has announced the five winners of its inaugural J. Irwin and Xenia S. Miller Prize Competition, which will realize the winning temporary pavilions later this year.

A $10 Billion Makeover for JFK

Headlines 5. January 2017
By: John Hill
All images courtesy of New York State
New York Governor Andrew Cuomo has unveiled an ambitious plan for the transformation of JFK International Airport "to meet the needs of the 21st-century economy."

International 2016 Piranesi Award

Headlines 4. January 2017
By: John Hill
2016 Piranesi Award: Renovation of Plecnik's House in Trnovo, Ljubljana, 2015 (Photo: Tadej Bolta)
The recipients of the 28th Piranesi Awards, announced at the conclusion of the Piran Days of Architecture in Slovenia late last year, include a bridge, a fire station, a rehabilitation center, and the renovation of a heritage house.
In 2016 the Building of the Week feature on American-Architects presented nearly fifty buildings located in the United States. To bring this year's feature to a close, we are holding a Building of the Year poll – with just a few mouse clicks you can vote for your favorite building.

Make That SIR David Adjaye

Headlines 3. January 2017
By: John Hill
David Adjaye (Photo: Knoll)
British-Ghanaian architect David Adjaye has been named Knight Bachelor in Queen Elizabeth's 2017 New Year Honors "for his contribution to architecture and design" and for being "one of the leading architects of his generation and a global cultural ambassador for the UK."
Photo courtesy of Fundació Mies van der Rohe
The Fundació Mies van der Rohe has announced the 356 nominated works in the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture - Mies van der Rohe Award 2017.

RIBA House of the Year

Headlines20. December 2016
By: John Hill
Photo: Keith Hunter
The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has named architect Richard Murphy’s own house in Edinburgh, Scotland, as its 2016 House of the Year.
Photo: Koji Horiuchi
The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has announced that its 2017 Twenty-five Year Award, which is "conferred on a building that has stood the test of time for 25-35 years," will go to I.M. Pei's iconic entrance to the Louvre in Paris.

From AA to UCLA

Headlines16. December 2016
By: John Hill
Photo: Tim Brotherton
Brett Steele, director of London's Architectural Association (AA) School of Architecture has been appointed dean of the UCLA School of the Arts and Architecture.