5 Finalists for EU Mies Award

Headlines15. February 2017
By: John Hill
All images courtesy of Fundació Mies van der Rohe
During a press conference today the European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe announced the five finalists in the 2017 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award: three cultural facilities and two collective housing projects.

2016 Europe 40 Under 40

Headlines 8. February 2017
By: John Hill
Alfredo Muñoz, ABIBOO Architecture: House H (Photo: João Morgado)
The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies and The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design have announced the latest roundup of "the most promising and emerging design talent in Europe" in their biennial Europe 40 Under 40 competition.
Denise Scott Brown in Las Vegas in the late 1960s (Photo via Architect's Journal)
American architect Denise Scott Brown is the 2017 recipient of the Architects' Journal's Jane Drew Prize, "a lifetime achievement award [that] recognizes an architectural designer who through their work has raised the profile of women in architecture."
All photographs by John Hill/World-Architects
The Times Square Alliance's ninth annual Times Square Valentine Heart was unveiled this morning during a rainy ceremony. The Office for Creative Research's We Were Strangers Once Too is billed as "a public data sculpture highlighting the role that immigrants have played in the founding, development, and continued vibrancy of New York City."
Peninsula Place aerial (Image: Uniform)
Developer Knight Dragon has unveiled the 1.4 million square foot Peninsula Place project, the first building in London to be designed by architect Santiago Calatrava, as part of the transformation of Greenwich Peninsula.
Sharon Fieldhouse by design/buildLAB (Photo: Jeff Goldberg/Esto)
The American-Architects Building of the Year 2016 is the Sharon Fieldhouse in Clifton Forge, Virginia, designed and constructed by the design/buildLAB at Virginia Tech School of Architecture + Design. The project received more than 15% of the thousands of votes cast by readers for their favorite Building of the Week featured on our US platform last year.
The site, adjacent to the Palace of Westminster in Victoria Tower Gardens, London. (All images courtesy of Malcolm Reading Consultants)
Malcolm Reading Consultants has released the designs of the ten shortlisted schemes in the UK Holocaust Memorial International Design Competition, which will "affirm the United Kingdom's commitment to stand up against prejudice and hatred."
The deadlines for two prestigious architecture awards are fast approaching: entries for the LafargeHolcim Awards 2016/17 are due March 21st and the deadline for the 2017 Moriyama RAIC International Prize is March 8th.
The jury, L-R: Ivan Blasi (coordinator of EU Mies Award), Dominique Jakob, Peter Cachola Schmal, Anna Ramos (Director of Fundació Mies van der Rohe), Małgorzata Omilanowska, Stephen Bates, Juulia Kauste, Pelin Derviş, and Gonçalo Byrne (All photographs co
The seven-person jury for the 2017 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award has announced 40 shortlisted projects culled from 355 works nominated for the prestigiuos biennial award organized by the European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe.
Photo: Märta Terne
The winner of the ninth annual award hosted by London's Design Museum is a flat-packed emergency shelter developed in part by the IKEA Foundation and the United Nations High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR).